Welcome to the OAS Website

The earliest art society to be established in New Zealand, and now operatiing
on the first floor of the handsome, historic Dunedin Railway Station.

Here you will find a Sales Gallery, our Permanent Collection and our four galleries.

We hold regular exhibitions of artist members' work, as well as
corporate-sponsored exhibitions open to artists further afield within New Zealand.

All are open for public viewing.  

We are open 10am till 4pm, every day.



Visiting Exhibitions

Four different organizations are displaying work in three different galleries in October and November.

A large number of works will be on display, representing a great variety of different mediums. 

Otago Embroiderers' Guild

7 - 12 October:
This exhibition, featuring works from the Embroiderers' Guild, begins very soon.

Embroiderers' Guild Affiliated to the nationwide Association of New Zealand Embroiderers’ Guilds (ANZEG).  It is a warm and friendly group of like-minded people with a passion for embroidery.

OAS Spring Exhibition 2014

18 October - 9 November


This is one of our long-standing annual exhibitions, and will feature art works in different media from our artist members. We are fortunate in continuing our close association with the sponsors, Anderson Lloyd. Anderson Lloyd also sponsor one of our galleries.

Preparations are well in hand and this promises yet again to be great exhibition full of colour and the joys of Spring!

For further details at this stage go to our Entry Form.

Winners in our 2013 Spring Exhibition:

First Prize:       Julia McNaughton   Solitude
Second Prize:             Najla Dominik -  Liza
Third Prize:     Pauline Bellamy – Snow Melt Kawarau River

Youth Art Exhibition 13 -28 September.

  The Youth Art Exhibition, kindly sponsored by Pet Planet, is now closed.
Check the Exhibitions page for further details including the winners.


Members' Meetings

At our AGM on Thursday 21st August the following were elected:

Patron: Paul Hudson
Vice Patrons: Audrey Bascand, Joan Hardey 
President: Jenny Longstaff         Vice Presidents:  Ngaere Moss,  Nic Dempster
Council Members: Geoff Adams, Murray Ayson, Anne Baldock, Alf Berland, David Corballis, Marie Gaut, Norman Hunter, Julia McNaughton, Brian Miller, Annie Pepers, Brian Stewart, Viviane Vagt.
Immediate Past President: Andrena Hall
We bade a reluctant farewell to one of our Vice Presidents, Kathleen Valentine, and also to Robbitti Stanley, Darren Tautari, Lorene Cecconi, all of whom after valuable service did not seek re-election.

Life Membership: Ngaere Moss was awarded life membership at the meeting, in recognition of the long and extremely dedicated service to the society. She has played a key role in the booking of galleries as well as receiving and hanging works in all our exhibitions.

Following the formalities, we were treated to an inspiring talk by Ian Griffin, director of the Otago Museum.


Become a Member
As a member there are a number of benefits - and it's not expensive.
Application forms are available from this page, or from our Sales Gallery.

Artist Membership
Read here on how to apply as an artist member:
Once you've checked this out, download the appropriate form from this page.


Copyright © Otago Art Society
Anzac Square, Dunedin,  New Zealand